BOSTON CONFERENCE

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

I just signed up for the Videomaker conference in Boston on Oct 7, the conference on editing. (It is NOT a workshop.)

Has this conference been offered before? If so, have any of you attended? What was your opinion?

I am not a professional videographer. At best, I am an occasional hobbyist. I want to do more with what I have, without spending oodles of money. I have a simple JVC mini DV camcorder, with no jack for an external mic, and no shoe for mounting a light. I do not wish to purchase fancy lighting set-ups, or any other equipment for that matter. I use Pinnacle Studio Plus, version 9, for editing and DVD authoring. (You can all stop boo-ing and hissing now. It’s a very good program for someone at my level.)

With what I already have, will this conference be worthwhile for me? Or will this conference be geared toward more advanced videographers?

Thanks,

Jeff

Inactive

Howdy.

I’d never boo and his at an editing setup. In fact, I’ve often suggested in the past that people who are planning to "go pro" start off with introductory software. It’s a great way to get most of the advanced functionality at an affordable price.

I had a JVC consumer MiniDVcamera once myself. I loved it until it died in the midle of a once-in-a-lifetime trip my wife made to perform in front of the leader of Cambodia, and now we can’t even pull footage off the half a tape it did film. I’ll sell the infernal thing to you for parts. πŸ™‚ I’m a Sony/Canon man today, and I would even suggest that if (but most likely when) your camera dies, you get a Sony or a Canon. Even their consumer stuff is good, IMO.

I’ve never been to one of these workshops, but if it’s anything like the articles VM magazine has, it will likely be quite good. I’m sure that even as a hobbyist you’ll be able to pull something from the event.