best video format for editing?

Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Hi all, just registered 10 min ago, so my 1st post. I am new to editing, and I need some advice.

Sorry if the post is long with several questions, but I figured that was better then 5 diff posts.

Let me give you some detail about what my needs and limited experience are, equipment I have now, so that you have enough details to help me.

I have had video camera’s in the past, but never did anything in terms of editing. The last 4 years I’ve had a Sony DCR-PC350, uses Mini DV tape and takes 3 megapixel stills, records to Sony Memory stick for the stills.

As of April 2009, I am now in charge of all marketing and sales for a real estate project here, an ocean view mountainside community (from 300 ft above sea level to 3000 ft) about 5 miles from the Pacific beaches, set in a 1000 acre Nature Reserve, approx 100 lots and custom homes over the next year. For now, I am the only one on our new development team that has any computer background, so I take all the photographs and video tape and do the editing, which right now has only been small clips uploaded to youtube for clients to see.

So I am responsible for producing all the photography and “quick” video for the project website, and there is no end of things to shoot, be it the views from the lots, the equestrian center, all the bird and animals, the river that runs through our community, 50 different “eco tourism” activities, sportfishing trips, visits by new clients, etc. All of this to be used in marketing the project.

I started with the older Sony in April, and a friend loaned me a Nikon D80 DSLR, (never used a slr or dslr before) with the standard F-S DX 18-135 mmand a fisheye lense, so I am using it and with my limited knowledge, the photos seem great, but honestly I have left it on automatic settings so far (except some macro shots).