Best Trick

Viewing 9 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

What would you say is the best trick that you have learned so far with making videos? I’m curious to see what peoples answers will be.

Inactive

I’m also curious about “tricks” in production. I’ve been producing professionally since 1984 and I’ve taught video production to hundreds of individuals. So the “tricks” I taught were stuff like how to wind mic & power cords so they won’t kink up. Or to always run power cords for lights through the legs of the light stand, so when someone trips on the cord, the light isn’t pulled over. Always start recording before you think you have to and continue recording beyond the end so you don’t accidentally erase some of your video. The absolute BEST trick is to put mics on your subjects and maybe the next most important is to use a tripod with the third being “you need more/better lighting.”

Of course there are the “tricks” I share with other pros. Like, never underestimate the importance of packaging & presentation. Recording interviews is so much easier with two cameras it isn’t funny. The individual with the best knowledge of outlets in older buildings is the head janitor; they’re also helpful in finding the shortest cable runs. And you can use an auto interior as an emergency sound booth.

So anyway, I’m still wondering what sort of “tricks” we’re talking about.

Inactive

One of my favorite “tricks” or tips perhaps is involving a mono pod. Have you ever had to shoot a wedding reception or some other event where you just can’t shoulder yourself past the crowd to get a decent shot? I use a simple mono pod (I purchased from Wal-mart for about $15) that screws very securely to bottom of my VX2100 (3.3 lb.s). I then tilt the LCD so that when I raise the pod and camera in the air and position the shot above the crowd I cancapture my deisired shot. My teen-age daughter calls this the “camcorder on a stick” method. Works great ina pinch.

Participant