Best editing software for say, a grand??

Videomaker – Learn video production and editing, camera reviews Forums Technique Editing Best editing software for say, a grand??

Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

I have been using Pinnacle Systems Studio versions for about the past 6 years and have been really pleased. I am debating on jumping to maybe Pinnacle Liquid, or perhaps Adobe Premiere Video Collection.

I understand Avid is the defacto standard, and not above buying it (seems they bought Pinnacle too). But I am feeling that $1200 will only be the start down the Avid road. Then I’ll be locked into more thousand dollar purchases for plug ins that will ultimately have some feature that I can’t live without. I feel Avid is way beyond the depth of my needs, at this point anyway.

I don’t do this for a living, but don’t mind spending the jack to get it right. I have successfully produced more than a dozen videos over these past years that got the audience either dancing or crying by the end of my production.

Anybody have some input on Liquid or Adobe, or should I just suck it up and go Avid. And Sony has some Vegas thingy too? Should I be loooking there?

My next big production is for my daughters graduation. Her school is the biggest benefactor of my work. My last release was part of an event that was shown in the gym on a 300″ projector. I ended up selling copies for a fundraiser before the year was over. So the pressure is on to out-do myself this year and Studio just won’t cut it anymore.

I built a platform, Intel 3ghz, 800mhz fsb, 160gb boot drive, 400gb video drive, 1.5gb memory, Nvidia and dual 19″ lcd monitors. Adobe Video Collection is 15 bills, thats where I am leaning, but before I do, what is your best reccomendation for the money.

Thanks in advance

Johnny Mac

Inactive

Johnny boy,