Beginners’ question on AVCHD files

Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

Hello all,

I’m sure there has be a question similar thrown around. I’m relatively new to Final Cut Pro and just purchased the Panasonic AG-HMC40 and am still learning it.

My question is how do I use the files my video is recorded to? If I put the SD card in my mac all the files are greyed out .cpi and when I try to connect with a USB nothing is recognized. I understand that .cpi is based of the MPEG4 codec and Adobe Premier can open it but is there any other way to go about this so I can actually edit?

Thanks for your time

I convert with Toast into the Apple ProRes 422 format. When I am using Final Cut, I am unsure about Adobe Premier.

I just found out about Toast, so I am no expert other than the little info I already provided.

Participant

You can open and convert those files into ProRes with Compressor, just make sure that you save the transcoded files to a ‘fixed’ location, otherwise, you’ll have to reconnect media (which can be a pain in the rear).

Participant

Well, I’m a PC user, so my answer may be irrelevant. I can see all my AVCHD files in Windows Explorer and in Bridge CS5 as soon as I’ve downloaded them to my computer.. I can open them all in Premiere Pro CS5 and edit them natively. Absolutely no transcoding needed!

Participant

The AVCHD shots from my Panasonic setup are in m2ts format. Panasonic providessoftware, which makes it child’s play to get the files ‘as-is’ into a file on my computer. That way Istore and index them, for future use, via USB2.