Beginner Video Making

Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

Im a student in high school and i have to complete an exit exam project. I was going to make a skateboard,bmx, inlineskate video and i wondered if anyone has anyhelpful hints, tips, or tricks for a lowly beginner. Any imput would be greatly appreciated.

Inactive

don’t get caught up in transition effects, use simple cuts.

Participant

Hi Snowdu3yahoocom,

That’s great advice fromJohnboy. Since ‘extreme’ sports like skateboarding, bmx etc, are already visually very interesting, you don’t need to add a lot of special effects to make your videos stand out.

One suggestion I would have is to have at least two different shots of your action.

Example: someone doing a railslide on a skateboard. Sorry if I don’t have the lingo anymore, I used to skate about a million years ago.

You would want to get an establishing shot of this railslide along with a different, probably closer shot of this railslide.

So what’s an establishing shot? Basically it’s a shot that captures the entire area, the rail, the concrete sidewalk at the top and bottom of the rail. Shooting an establishing shot provides context for the viewer so they know exactly where they are and what’s going on.

Stick to the basics and your level and you will do great.Once you’ve gotten an A+ on your project, then you can play around and expand on your video skills.

Good luck!

In Solidarity,

Alain

http://www.crazyredacesproductions.blogspot.com/

Participant

Safety First! Don’t put yourself in a position that you may get hurt or the person being taped gets hurt.

I still consider myself a beginner…I have done several hunting videos.
      I use to try blend each scene with a transition…looking back it isn’t good.

Watch a movie on the topic you are filming. You want to see what else everyone is doing to get an idea of what is good. When I say topic it would be anything having to do with extreme sports…skateboarding, surfing, BMX, etc…