Beginner looking to buy a camera

• This topic has 4 replies, 1 voice, and was last updated 12 years ago by AvatarAnonymous.
Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

I’m looking to buy a camera for fairly light production use (music videos, comedy sketches, etc.). Initially, these will strictly be hobby projects. I have $1,500 to spend and would like some advice on brands and models to consider. I’m a film school grad, but I’ve been out of the industry for about ten years now and I want to slowly work my way back and get my skills up. I’ve looked around on Craigslist and a few other sites, but I think I should get some advice before I part with my cash. Any suggestions? What factors should I consider as I do my research? What are the baseline specs I should look for? Is it okay to buy used, or do I need to up my budget for a new camera?

Thanks for any help you can give!

Koboi,

Don’t feel alone. I’ve been running a production co’ for almost nine years and recently made the jump to HD. For two years, I watched the trends and evaluated cameras and held onto the purse strings with a ‘death grip’ until I found something we could work with.

So, with that in mind ask yourself these questions;

What do I want to do with the footage? (meaning, what will be the ultimate distribution method.) You mentioned some potential projects, but not how anyone is going to see the final product. Fortunately, there are viable options for an ‘insurgent filmmaker’ like yourself (too underfunded to be ‘independent’ but better educated and skilled to be considered ‘guerilla’.) Your distribution points these days are the web, DVD and mobile content. Just as an aside, broadcast TV is a potential point, but very difficult to break into.