Beginner filmmaker – first camcorder recommendations

Videomaker – Learn video production and editing, camera reviews Forums Technique Production Gear Beginner filmmaker – first camcorder recommendations

• This topic has 5 replies, 1 voice, and was last updated 12 years ago by AvatarAnonymous.
Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

Hey, I am a beginner filmmaker, and want to start out slow and steady. I hope to spend no more than 200-250 on the camcorder. I am pretty much a rookie, and don’t know much so please also explain to me what the different types are. Any help is greatly appreciated. thanks!

Participant

You might find EarlC’s discussion on this topic of interest.

http://videomaker.com/community/forums/topic/current-posts-common-theme

As for which camera, might I suggest you look through the ones available through Amazon.com or B&H Photo? Read their descriptions/functions and follow with their reviews from users to see if any will fit your specific needs.

Read magazines like Videomaker. Look up their product reviews.

View the Videomaker Vidcasts here to learn some of the basic needs and skills.

http://www.videomaker.com/vidcast/153/

Don’t forget about resources like wikipedia. they do a very good job of discribing the differences and with the interactive links, help to answer some of your followup questions as well.

http://www.wikipedia.org/

And don’t forget the forum archives here. You are not the first one to ask such questions (and won’t be the last) so search the forums for responses to others. Theyare a great resource and mayalso help you with focusing on what you really want to do in video.

Inactive