Beachtek Question – in a HURRY, as usual

Videomaker – Learn video production and editing, camera reviews Forums Technique Sound Beachtek Question – in a HURRY, as usual

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

I’m doing a wedding, and I have one camera (Sony VX2100) and two microphones. One is an Azden 100LT, and the other is an AudioTechnica PRO 24 (please tell me if this is a crappy mic, as I have not used it yet. And if it is, can you recommend a good one at a relatively low price?). Neither have XLR connections, although I do have an adapter for the Azden 100LT.

So, my question. I want to use both microphones so I can pick up audio from the groom as well as get some ambient noise/music, etc. I know I need a Beachtek adapter. Any advice on specific models?

If I sound like a total newbie, it’s because I am.

Thanks in advance for the help!

Participant

I had an Audio Technica pro 24 for about 24 hours before I took it back. The audio from it wasn’t any better than my on camera mic in my opinion. If you want decent ambient sound you need to get a shotgun mic with XLR adapter so you can get it far enough away from you, and up near the action where you want it.
      The problem I see with the Azden mic that you bought is that it didn’t come with an XLR output. You could try using an 1/8in mini to XLR adapter to run it into the beachtek but I have never used that mic so I dont know how good that will sound.

If you want to try to use what you currently have, I would see what it sounds like to get a 2x mini to 1x mini adapter so you could run the pro24 and azden both into the adapter and the adapter into your vx2100
      Or, better yet plug the pro 24 into a minidisc recorder or mp3 player that will record line in and just run the azden into the camera.

Later
      ~Adam
      http://www.inmotionvideo.biz/outdoorohio.html

Participant

Thanks for the response, Adam, and thanks for the advice.

What shotgun mic do you recommend?

Inactive