Basic Equipment Needed for Video Editing Suite

Videomaker – Learn video production and editing, camera reviews Forums Technique Production Gear Basic Equipment Needed for Video Editing Suite

Viewing 16 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

Hello,

I am new to this site and forum so forgive me if this question has already been addresses.

I am a designer/video editor and my business is growing to the point I am moving from a home office into a small office space. My video production/editing business looks like it may be increasing so I’m looking for some advice on any specific equipment I would need to get basic editing suite set up. I’m looking for specific info if anyone has it so I can price everything out. Currently, the editing I do is on a Macbook Pro with Final Cut Pro and I use an external firewire 800 harddrive when editing.

If you were to create your own editing suite, what equipment/brands/models would you recommend as far as monitors, systems, monitors, etc.?

Thanks in advance for anyone who takes the time to help me out here.

-Adam

Participant

with a macbook pro, I would definitely get the Matrox MXO2. This allows you to have any input/output connection for capturing and monitoring.

If you want to edit HD, I suggest buying a RAID. CalDigit makes some good ones.

Inactive

Thanks. I’m actually thinking about getting a desktop system to compliment my Macbook so I can have a stationary set up at the office and use my Macbook when not in the office. Any recommendations for what else I would need like dual monitors, decks, speakers, etc.? to start the makings of a professional edit suite?

-AG

Participant