background windows overlooking the city – how?

Viewing 8 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

Well I am embarking on yet another challenging project that I have no experience with. Call it risk-taking or stupidity, but I am going for it anyway. Here’s my current work – a bible study: http://vimeo.com/21541661(Don’t be too critical – ALL of my video & editing has been self taught)

The next study they would like to video in a huge building in front of floor to ceiling windows overlooking the city – one lesson at night and the other lesson during daylight.

So, isn’t that impossible? I mean wouldn’t everything (lights, me, camera…) reflect in the glass in the background – regardless of day or night? Is my only option to use green screen?

Any direction will be helpful to me, feel free to assume I know nothing – forever learning, will remain a Doctor of education by training not a videographer/editor by training!

Also – I have 2 Sony PD170 Professional cameras and edit on PowerMacG5 with Final Cut Pro 5

Thanks!

Dr. Michelle

Participant

You could rotoscope the window out (very tedious) and replace it with a scene of your choosing (like green screen, just not keyed to a color but a user defined region) or you could use a polarizing filter (or two) to get rid of the reflections.

Also, your font is very hard to read – you need to work on the color (font or background) and give it some better contrast.

Inactive

@birdcat – thanks! One clarifying question though – if they want the city to be in the background, using a polarizing filter would also block that view, right? Or does a polarizing filter just “blur” the reflections, leaving the city in the background somewhat discernible?

Participant

think of a bank shot in pool… the angle of reflectance = the angle on incidence…