Background Processes

Viewing 15 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

Hi guys,

I am new to this game and have just encoded my first full length feature and was horrified to find it took nearly 15 hours for a 1.45h clip.

So my question is, I want to dedicate all my processor power to the task of Transcoding, so how do i do this.

In the old Win ME, i could simply CTRL + ALT + DEL and then shut down processes that i dont need running to get more power, but i am using XP now and i dont have a clue what all the things are running in the Sys Tray.

Anyone got any ideas, which ones must i leave on? I switch the rest off.

Cheers,

Jay

Inactive

wink,

You’re not going to gain that much by shutting down background process. Just because you see them list there doesn’t necessarily mean that they are currently doing anything. They could just be loaded in memory and that’s why you see them there. All you can really do is make sure that you don’t have any other programs running especially any virus software.

By looking at the amount of time it took, I would venture to say that you must have did a 2-pass encoding job in which case it will take twice as long as a single pass. I always set those up to run over night when I’m sleeping. Other influences would be compression settings but even bigger than that would be your CPU speed. Your CPU is the thing that is doing all of the work and if you have a slower one, it will just take that much longer. That’s just how it is.

RAM

Inactive

I transcoded a 1h 20 min wedding video in just under an hour. There were minimal transitions and video filters applied so the processor just had to transcode straight video. I also have a dual core Pentium D 2.8GHz processor with 2Gig if RAM. As I explained to you before, transcoding will take a long time, especially if the video content has filters, titles, transitions, and such added to it. I don’t know what transcoder your using but I think the newer ones run a bit quicker.