Audio question about person playing the Harp

Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

I got a call today from someone wanted me to film her playing the harp for her to send out to schools for college.

My question is, any advice on what kind of microphone I should use? A boom or should I put a small lapel microphone on the harp itself or on her?

I have no experience on this and I want to have some sort of idea before I agree to do it.

Thank you.

Participant

You might be able to hide an omni-directional lavalier mic on the harp close to the strings. No need to clip it to her since she won’t be talking. You’ll want the mic as close to the strings as possible to capture the cleanest sound possible.

Participant

No do not place any mics directly on the harp, it will pick up viberations and depending on where you clamp it, it chould change the tone of the harp.

You will want a good Condenser mic and quality preamps. Best case is to goto a local recording studio, they range from $30 to $800 an hour.

if not then buy or rent a good Condenser and build a quiet room and pad it to remove reflected sound. I have a EV RE-20 for most of my insterment micing. http://pro-audio.musiciansfriend.com/product?sku=270009VI pipe that into a Art Voice channel “Channel Strip” http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/VoiceChannel/. and don’t forget clean power, a lot of people over look this part http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/PRO3500/“Monster power center Pro 3500”

I setup a small studio in my back yard, it’s a 12 X 14″ shed that I insulated and installed a very quiet A/C, I carpeted the floor, walls and celining. I also have moving pads that hang about 8″ from the wall, Works very well.

If you plan to do a lot of recording of insterments, vocalsist, or band you may want to conciter building a studio, if not then renting a studio may be a better route.

Participant