Audio gear recommendations for camcorder

Videomaker – Learn video production and editing, camera reviews Forums Technique Sound Audio gear recommendations for camcorder

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

Hi,

I’m new to the forums but have been reading from these forums for the last six months or so. I wanted to get some advice on buying audio equipment for interviews for a research documentary. I will be alone and don’t have another person for sound, I’m a student so I’m on a limited budget. I am an absolute beginner and don’t know if I will do any video after this apart from family video’s.

I have a Canon Vixia HF S21 and am looking for a reasonably priced solution for audio. I plan to do seated indoor interviews and also recording of some conferences (speakers), and also urban scenes (art galleries, possibly some music performances) as representations of urban cultural life. The group of people I will be interviewing are not keen on video recording so I have a need to have a small setup. I plan on using my table top tripod and I don’t really want to use wireless lav in case of drop out/cell phone interferance etc.

For audio I only have one mic input 3.5mm. From loads of research here’s what I’ve come up with my budget is 300 to 500 (after already having bought the camera, tripods, light, lenses, etc):

1) Audio technica ATR3350 wired lav with a mono to stereo adapter. Will this be adequate to hook up to the interviewee? Do I need to be heard asking the questions?

2) In order to have a backup and have audio of my interview questions I also have a Olympus DS-2200 (a bit outdated) digital recorder that I plan to place between myself and the interviewer. I have CS4 with soundbooth so think I should be able to tweak the audio where needed.

Should I buy the Zoom H1 for audio recording instead of the Olympus as I will also have a number of interviews that I will digitally record and not video record.