Aternative method to Black Striping

Viewing 8 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

I am a videographer who uses MiniDV tapes. Now I tend to reuse old tapes that have content I no longer need. The problem I have is that I find myself having to black stripe alot and I fear that I am putting alot of wear on my cameras. I know that I could get a mini dv tape deck and do it that way, but I still will be putting alot of use on the deck and not to mention it takes forever to black stripe tapes for a shoot that could last a few hours. Are they any faster and cheaper alternatives out there that anyone knows about?

Participant

Agreed…

I used to black stripe, but found it painful and unnecessary. The best practice I have now is NEVER rewind your tape during a shoot. It wears the battery down and causes timecode issues (eventually.)

Kenny

Participant

I’m not having any timecode issues, the reason I am black striping, is because I am shooting in a start and stop manner. Now on a new tape it isn’t a problem, but when I am reusing an older tape I get flash frames of old footage in between my stopages. Also, I have been told that with the type of shooting I am doing that it is nessesary to black stripe otherwise I will have flash frame problems throughout my tapes. This is what I have been taught in Broadcasting school. Even with new tapes we were instructed to black stripe all the time, to avoid black spots regardless to what we are taping

Inactive

Personally, when I think of black striping, I think of formalities like setting up a "proper" dinner table complete with five utensils per person, cloth napkins, candelabra, and violinist. Black striping is the "Proper" way to do things, but I’ve discovered that in the grisly, in-your-face world of real life live event videography, things don’t always happen in the "Proper" manner, nor do they need to.