Arguably the perfect audio solution.

Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author
      michael
      Participant

My two cents, on an oft passionate subject? I’ve been using Sony PCM-D50’s for my dual source audio for the last 6-8 months, and I’m here to tell you, these units are the cats pajama’s. I say this, having a decades long background in audio-recording, in not only my own years long accumulation of pro audio-gear, but working in the area’s two performing arts universities full blown studios. Nutshell: Spend the extra money, and get this unit. Mics are gorgouse, on par with any pro stereo set, short of ribbon and tube mics,a/d converters crystal clean, flawless limiter, and overall, seemingly indestructable.

I’m personally equipped for any recording situation, from bar band to orchestra, with any number of road rigs that can make an audiophile blush, but for a run n gun guerilla, the D50’s will hold their ownagainst anything,but the mostsubstantial audio kit. It’s very clear why this unit has held it’s price point for years. I see many here looking for “mixers”, and mics, pre-amps, DI boxes, adaptors, and such. I would posit, they may not understand the threshold they’re crossing, by getting into audio tracking, and have to imagine onesfocus on video is compromised then, to some degree. Don’t let the lack of XLR inputs deter either. There’s an old saying in the recording industry, that the answer to any issue, is more ’57. ( as in SM57’s ). If I can or need to mic, in the nearfield, I run a binaural adaptor cable, with a 57. No phantom required, and outside of acoustic instruments, the expanded freqs of condensors are gonna be compressed and edited out anyway.Seems video people are as prone to gas ( gear aqusition syndrome ) as audiophiles. Keep it simple.

Anyway, that’s my rant. You’ll save yourself headaches, with this unit.

EarlC