Apple (Lion) no longer does iDVD. Are discs Toast?

Videomaker – Learn video production and editing, camera reviews Forums Technique Editing Apple (Lion) no longer does iDVD. Are discs Toast?

Viewing 12 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

I’m an event videographer whose clientele, for the most part, still prefer discs to online streaming. Apple, correctly no doubt, believes that the future is in the Cloud. Their latest OS X (Lion) doesn’t pack iDVD. Which puts me in a bind just as I am upgrading from pre-intel Mac G5 to Lion-loaded iMac i5. How is one to author dvds. Can you still get iLife 11 off the shelf? Can you buy the latest iDVD iteration separately? Or do you go to a 3rd party provider, like Toast 11 (do they do Themes?) How are you event videographers providing discs to those clients of yours who still prefer the dvd?

Thanks,

Participant

Take this with a grain of salt (I no longer edit on an Apple platform), but you can probably purchase ILife 08, 09 or 10 disks from reputable sellers on E(vil)bay or Amazon.

Participant

See if you can get FCP7. That comes with DVD Studio Pro.

Adobe’s package also comes with a DVD Authoring program. I’m pretty sure it’s called Encore.

If you’re a professional, get some professional software. iDVD (and the rest of iLife) is not professional.

Professional defines a package, product, equipment or software that someone who gets paid to produce, et al, utilizes to create what clients and customers will buy. A “professional” housebuilder/carpenter might only use a hammer and a handsaw, but just because he/she doesn’t utilize nailguns, circular saws and other modern implements doesn’t mean he/she isn’t professional or a craftsman. Just saying.

Participant

Yea, I get what you’re saying Earl. I stand by my statement, though. Get some professional software instead of relying on what Apple offers for free in a computer.