Another one in need of camera recommendations.

Viewing 1 reply thread
  • Author
      Inactive

I’ve flipped through forums after forums, including this one and it’s still surprisingly hard to pin point a forum that truly answers the questions in my mind.

I played with a really cheap Sony Handycam that my cousin let me use for free until he got hauled off by the FBI (Long story, but kinda funny). Anyhow, after reading through these forums, it makes sense to really word my question right for you guys to truly answer it. So I hope this is the best description of my needs/wants:

I was looking around $1,000, give or take, since my job isn’t so nice about my wages. So 3CCD and 1CCD aren’t as imperative to me due to the range. Also, some higher 1CCD seem to outperform lower end 3CCD, according to some forums and expert reviews. If I’m wrong please do correct me. I’m still a rookie at this.

Anyhow, the purpose of the camera will be used for independent shorts. Low light isn’t as imperative as I would probably can not expect too much of for this price range. Of course, it doesn’t hurt to have one that does do well in those conditions.

My cousin’s camera had a "spot focus" or "spot metering" function which, I think is most Sony Handycams have because of the touch panel function, except for the Sony Handycam DCR-TRV280 that doesn’t support it for some reason. Anyhow, this was a function I really enjoyed and wondered if it should still be considered or if there is better alternative with the next camera to consider.