Another help with buying a new camera thread.

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      Anonymous
      Inactive

But first let me introduce myself.

I am a Professional Photographer first and foremost. I have been for over 15 years.

A secondary part of my business is Video. I shoot mostly weddings, some local company’s TV commercials, some sporting events and my buddies hunting videos.

I use a Canon GL2 and in a pinch an old Panasonic PV-L559. I like the 26X optical zoom on the PV-L but the quality and mixing it in with the GL2 video really shows the quality difference. Lets be honest here too. The GL2 low light performance is not anything to wright home about.

I always planned on buying the XL2 and the lens adapter to mount all my Canon L glass and not worry about the optical zoom built into the cameras.

With the HD becoming so popular these days I decided the XL2 may not be my best option anymore.

Here are the things I need the most in order.

#1) Low light..

#2) Quality. I have to be able to produce acceptable HD video.

#3) Optical zoom. In some situations I need a lot of zoom.

#4) a decent reliable camera. I can’t have it get a little dust in it and puke on me in a week.

#5) Easy transference of video into the Computer. Be it built in HD or HCSD cards. I have a lot of HCSD and CF cards so that would be a major bonus.

My budget is around $3500. But if there is something in the $5K range that is heads and shoulders above then I would look at it. But I am not opposed to looking at $1500 models either. If they can get the job done then why not.

I use both Mac and PC. I use Final Cut on the Mac and Pinnacle Studio pro on the PC.

I am hearing decent things about the Panasonic HMC150. Any insight on its low light capabilities?

Rob
      Participant