Advice/Recommendations

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Hi everyone, I’m new to the forum…which is pretty obvious, I know. I was hoping someone wouldn’t mind giving me a bit of advice…or a recommendation perhaps, in regard to purchasing a new dv cam. I’ve been working in photography for about eight or nine years now…from using film(ps, slrs) and digital(ps and slrs)…and I was hoping to get more involved in filmmaking as of late. I’ve done a large amount of research mind you, but I can never seem to find a good site that has a searchable system with that allows a user to find a dv cam based upon specific requirements(apertures, fps, etc). Do any members here know of such a site, possibly? I guess I’m basically looking for a dvcam with a large amount of manual features in the actual method of shooting…allowing me to have the ability to customize the cinematography of a scene. I must also specify that I’m look for a sub $1000 model…in minidv format if possible(since I’ve heard a bit of negative critisicm in relation to hd formats). I realize this question is asked frequently, although not specifically identical, I would appreciate any helpful advice that one has to offer. Thanks!

Participant

Btw…I’m looking to use this camera to shoot short films until I can gain more experience before moving onto something a bit longer. Not really interested in using this for a documentarian purpose(weddings, sports, etc)…more so for story telling…cinematic uses(filmmaking). Thanks again

Participant

you may want to consider 3 CCD type camera for gathering the input
      video. Usually 3 CCD’s are better than just one. Most low end cameras
      have only one CCD. Also, if you plan to shoot for more than one hour
      and changing the mini DV cassett is necessary to be done fast, ..
      recommend a side loading cassett camera. Side loaders have the
      advantage over a bottom loader when you have the camera on a