Advice needed for video project

Viewing 8 reply threads
  • Author
      Anonymous
      Inactive

The company I work for has been given a 15K grant to develop and shoot a video about treating mentally ill children. They have asked me to handle this project as I have been directing church broadcasts for the past 4 years (4 cam live to air). I have also been involved in some TV shows (Nashville Network), films and various video projects in my long and checkered past. I have some editing experience on a Media 100.

My first recommendation was to hire a pro to do this however, they would rather buy equipment and do their own as they would like to be able to use the equipment for future projects both for internal training and commercial sales. This company treats underserved and indigent patients in east Tennessee. They’re good folks so I am willing to help. I have made my limitations very clear to them but they would really like to try this.

My equipment list includes: camera, tripod, editing software, wireless mics and lights.

I would love to hear any recommendations or thoughts. I would be grateful for any advice.

Gregg

Anonymous
      Inactive

Hank,

Thanks for the reply. Your suggestion is the first route I recommended to them. They are pushing back because they have gone this route in the past and it worked poorly for them. There is only one videographer in the area and this is the guy they worked with. I may have to expand the scope of the search. Also, they want to have the equipment to tape future presentations that our docs provide to the communities we serve. We can only reach so many in person – but we can distribute a lot of DVD’s.

You are quite correct about the time factor except part of me would enjoy the challenge and I have done some of this work before – I just haven’t had to buy equipment to do it. And, yes…though I am a doc, even I wouldn’t do my own operation. πŸ™‚

Gregg

TomScratch
      Participant

Hi,