Adequate Sound Quality

Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Greetings Everyone! This is my first post….. I’ve been a video hobbyist for quite some time, and have done several different types of videos. But I was asked to video a “Youth Orchestra” Concert in December. This is a bi-yearly function and the person who was doing the video has decided to retire. I’m a little apprehensive about doing this since I’ve never have done this before. It is being held in the local community theater, and I was wondering what the best way of getting great sound. I have seen the video dvds of previous concerts and they seem to be pretty good. I just don’t know how he achieved it.

Participant

Don’t have time to elaborate, but order up a few Zoom H2s and plant them around the room.

Participant

Do you have access to the main mixing panel? If so, you could take a feed from there.

Participant

My choice and what I have done many times in the past is to plug into the main sound mixing board as birdcat suggested above (I would actually plug a Zoom recorder into the soundboard). However, I have found over the years that option is not always possible. In those case where the sound board is not an option we have used several Zoom H4N’s on mini tripods – we have used both the built in mics and have used them with 2 mics plugged in and strategically placed per unit (it just depends on what is allowed). But I have to say that 99% of the time the best results came from being plugged into the house soundboard.

RCvilla1122 sez, ” I was asked to video a ‘Youth Orchestra’ Concert in December “