Add black bars to 4:3 video to add to 16:9

Viewing 10 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

I want to combine 2 different aspect ratios into 1 project. I use studio 9 plus. It will allow me to add both into 1 project however it will strech the 4:3 or squash the 16:9. I want to use the 16:9 but do not want to strech my 4:3. Is there any way to add black bars to the sides of my raw 4:3 footage so studio thinks it is 16:9. I have been shooting video for many many years and havelots of 4:3 video (even 8mm film) but also have lots of 16:9. Is there a software that will do this or is there a way to trick studio into thinking it is 16:9 footage. How does pinnacle know it is 4:3? Also All the editing software I read about does not give much detail about their products so I have no idea what reasonably priced software will work. Thanks for your help!!!

Inactive

Okay, everyone knows I’m a bit a a Sony fanatic. But I know that Sony Vegas Movie Studio Platinum 8.0 will do the task with ease. To see if it will work for you, download the 30 day free trial. Here’s the link,

http://www.sonycreativesoftware.com/download/trials/moviestudiope?keycode=7777-4701

If you have any problem combining your 4:3 and 16:9 footage, I can walk you through the process (along with tons of other folks.)

Good Luck and Happy Editing

Participant

I wouldn’t recommend exporting a 16:9 timeline that has 4:3 footage with the black bars on the sides. It’s ugly. I think it looks better to work with a timeline set up for 4:3. This way the footage will either completely fill the canvas or have the black bars on top and bottom when you view the 16:9 footage.

Now, I know what you mean when you say the 16:9 gets squashed, but when I’ve done this in Final Cut Pro, there is a parameter to adjustlabeled “aspect,” and you can each clip individually. It might be labeled differently in your program though, but I’m not sure because I’ve never worked with it. I would recommend doing it that way.