absolute beginner! need to learn how to use a camera for short comedy films

Videomaker – Learn video production and editing, camera reviews Forums Technique Miscellaneous Techniques absolute beginner! need to learn how to use a camera for short comedy films

Viewing 20 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

So,

I’m a writer and I need a camera to shoot short comedy films and sketches for the internet. Someone suggetsed the hpx170 and the xh-a1 , I don’t know what anything means! How/where can I learn?

Participant

Hmm…well, the HPX170 is a model made by Panasonic and the XH-A1 is a model made by Canon. They are both HD cameras; pretty decent I would assume. Although, if you really know nothing about cameras or using a camera, I wouldn’t suggest these to you. I would suggest a decent miniDV camcorder.

When I first started, I got a Canon GL2. It’s a solid camera and great for a beginner. As far as how/where you can learn…the best thing to do is to just get out there and start shooting.

Participant

Most important question is do you have a budget? How much can you spend on a camera and all the gear it takes to go along with it?

http://www.hdupdate.com

Participant

So, I can spend about 5500, but no more than that. I do agree that as a beginner, purchasing the hpx170 may put me in over my head, but I learn very quickly and I have been advised by many people that it’s almost necessary to get an HD camera.

Participant