3ccd question and where cams are going…HD vs NON HD

Videomaker – Learn video production and editing, camera reviews Forums General Video and Film Discussion 3ccd question and where cams are going…HD vs NON HD

Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      pugdogproductions
      Participant

Hey!

I am new to all this lingo, PLEASE help me. I have a 3ccd vid cam and was told this is good to have. WHY? What are the cs?
      If I get a newer cam should I still have the c’s?
      Also HD vs NON HD, what’s your take? Will is all become HD and I should just get a HD cam anyway?

THANKS!

Ellen

Anonymous
      Inactive

Ellen,
      Brushing off the cobwebs on my memory of electronics, I think CCD stands for Charge-Coupled Device. OK, that really doesn’t explain anything, but this is a device which can convert light into an electrical signal, which your camcorder can record. The larger the CCD, the more accurate the signal it can provide. There are different factors that can contribure to accuracy: Fine detail (the more pixels in the CCD, the more detail), better low light sensitivity, and reproducing the exact colors that were in the scene. Camcorder manufacturers found that they could further improve color accuracy by using 3 CCDs, one for each primary color. Less expensive camcorders with a single CCD tend to have less vibrant colors (although some single-CCD camcorders manage to do a pretty good job with color).

These days, some camcorders are available with CMOS devices instead of CCDs. CMOS doesn’t need as much power as CCDs do, and can produce beautiful images if there is enough light. But CCDs seem to be better in low-light conditions.