20 year old looking to buy first HD pro cam, Sony/Panasonic

Videomaker – Learn video production and editing, camera reviews Forums Cameras and Camcorders Other Camcorders 20 year old looking to buy first HD pro cam, Sony/Panasonic

Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Hiya, I am looking at buying the SONY HVR-A1U – Price: $2,549.95 from http://www.evsonline.com/merchant2/merchant.mvc?Screen=CTGY&Category_Code=2A2 or anything anyone can recommend in the same price range, but am really not knowledgeable in this area, I know a fair bit about DSLR’s as I own a Nikon D70 and am a keen photographer, I used to use the manual FM10 and swan twin reflex camera. But this is a new field for me. I am a very amateur video maker and want to get into documentaries for hobby and real estate/hotel/tourism promotions as I live in Barbados – this will be the business side of it.

I am traveling to Miami in Oct and will be aiming to get the camera then, I have a budget of about US$ 3,000 to US$ 4,000 for everything, if anyone can confirm what everything would consist of for a beginner, i.e. tripod, external mike/lighting etc, or do I just need the camera and move from there, basically, do I spend all my money on a good camera so I do not have to upgrade soon, or do I buy an alright camera with accessories.

I have some video editing experience, but not on a professional scale and only really mucked around – i.e. output types etc, I used to use Ulead VideoStudio and Pinnacle 8….. Can anyone advise a good pro appearance editing software, I am very willing to learn to software and master the technique to achieve excellent results…..

Quality is imperative as I hope to broadcast with the local visitor channel and local caribbean countries….

THANKS!

Participant

Hi Daryl –

Just realize the A1U really isn;t a pro camera – For starters, it’s a single chip model (pro and prosumer varieties are three chip cameras).