16:9 or 4:3???. documentary and ‘adult’ video.

Videomaker – Learn video production and editing, camera reviews Forums Technique Miscellaneous Techniques 16:9 or 4:3???. documentary and ‘adult’ video.

Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      Inactive

I’ve been researching this online but I can’t really find a solid answer. My camera does native 16:9. I tend to prefer this more ‘cinematic’ look. However I am a total newb and I am worried about making a rookie mistake that would make my videos ineligible for contests, commercial distribution etc.

My nightmare is having a finished project with tons of time and money and tears invested and a pro takes one look and says, ‘dude, you shot in widescreen? don’t you know any better? might as well start over.”

I have two projects I am working on. One is a documentary. The other is an ‘adult’ film. I am not sure if this would affect the choice of aspect ratio also.

Any help appreciated. Ridicule accepted also.

Participant

I don’t remember how long it’s been since I’ve seen a single4:3 video on Youtube.

I’d shoot it in 16:9, wait for the contest, and then crop it only if by hypothetical chance they won’t accept it in 4:3.

In today’s production environments, while I continue to shoot and produce on SD because I’m not getting the demand for wide screen OR HD in my select production categories, you can certainly NOT go wrong shooting widescreen and/or high definition. There’s, as XTR said, always the option to down-convert and/or crop, pan and scan, etc. to make it fit into other demands, but again I do not expect you to run into “issues” regarding wide screen or HD production delivery on the client/user end.

Cj,