1-Camera wedding – where do I stand?!

Viewing 10 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Hello All,

I’ll be filming my first wedding next week. It’s actually a same-sex ceremony. (Has anyone done one of those?) It’s a 1-camera job and they’re not having a rehearsal. My question is, where do I stand to capture the best video?

(I already have the lav mic and shotgun, and I’ve read many great tips here so far – I think this is my only remaining question. Then again, the more tips, the better!)

Inactive

generally at the front of the alter is the best position to get all the “action” Just remember people will stand during the procession..set your tripod as high as you can and point your viewfinder/monitor down to see it. shoot over their heads if possible. I have been shooting for 15 years and have not done a same sex wedding yet. I know I will get the call one day and I hope I am already booked! Not that there’s anything wrong with it… :-]

Do you have a good light for reception? plenty of battery for it…Thats where you run into lighting issues. bring spare camera batts,extra tapes, etc. expect the unexpected.

Good Luck!! shoot plenty you can cut it out later, but you can’t go back in time.

Harry

Participant

glasseye pretty much hit the nail on the head. I don’t do weddings, but I did one for a family friend once. My video teacher from high school, who i still keep in touch with, said ideally you want one camera shooting down the center isle framed with the bride, groom, and priest. Then you have a second camera on the bride. In your case though, maybe you have 2 brides…or no bride. Now that’s a brain teaser.

Participant