You are here

Which Hardware to Buy?

yoerz's picture

Hey guys,

I'm very new to the editing game and just finished editing my first home video with Adobe Premiere CS6. I have another video to edit now that is full of high resolution 1080p clips taken from both a DSLR and a RED EPIC, those clips take FOREVER to render on my machine, even though my machine is pretty powerful (8GB of DDR3, Core i7, 2 Velociraptur drives in RAID0).

Is there a card/interface I can add to my computer to make rendering and maybe even playback without rendering go smoothly? I don't really need a capture card since all the video I use is already in files and I just read it off SD cards.

Any recommendations?

jroush's picture

My suggestion is throw everything into premiere or evenbetter adobe media encoder encoded the files go have lunch or whatever you want come back and use the footage for your software. Sadly even now it is hard to get good computer that can handle red footage well without paying 8,000 for a computer. Encoding will help a lot though, the only hardware computer hardware you can get from red is a capture card. (Also are you playing off of sd's, if so are they class 10?

Rob Grauert's picture

If your RED files are the native R3D files, a RED Rocket card will accelerate playback and transcoding times.

Quadro 4000 GPUs will also accelerate general playback in Adobe.

As stated earlier, though, perfomance comes with a hefty price tag.

And just as an FYI, capture cards are important for more things than capturing footage. They're necessary for accurately monitoring your video clips, too.

Bruce McIntosh's picture