You are here

what a cannon GL2 or DSLR or camcorder

redwillow's picture

Hi

I have found a cannon GL 2 fro 400.oo.

I am new to filmmaking.

Nor sure what would be  my best choices.

want to also know which would be best for edtting.I have laptop pc.

the camcorder flash sdd  cards are applealing

do you know the GL 2 pixels capabilites?

comparing to the 720 1080. 24 on the other cameras?

i think dlsr may be too complicated for me.. and the heating up issues.

i want to film docs. how toos  and stadge.

thanks

jroush's picture

A DSLR it not nessicarly more advanced. A DSLR would work for everything you said but stage because of overheating. Being a DSLR owner Ican shoot constantly for around 40 minutes before any overheating issues. For sd cards, you can get up to a 64gb. I prefer DSLR for sensors and affordable lenses. I have used camcorders, not a gl2 though. I have heard a lot of good things about them. In your situation I would get the camcorder.

brunerww's picture
Plus Member

jroush wrote:

A DSLR it not nessicarly more advanced. A DSLR would work for everything you said but stage because of overheating. Being a DSLR owner Ican shoot constantly for around 40 minutes before any overheating issues. For sd cards, you can get up to a 64gb. I prefer DSLR for sensors and affordable lenses. I have used camcorders, not a gl2 though. I have heard a lot of good things about them. In your situation I would get the camcorder.

redwillow - 

There are DSLR-like large sensor interchangeable lens cameras that do not overheat - the Panasonic GH2 and GH3.  With these cameras, you can shoot stage plays - or any other multi-hour event.

Also, you can get SD cards up to 128GB - I bought a Kingston 128GB SDXC card for my GH3.

And the old Canon GL2 is an obsolete camera with half the resolution of the GH2, which can produce images like these: