You are here

The police gave my video to the news

ucdaman's picture

yesterday morning I filmed on my digital video camera a woman stealing mail in tulsa oklahoma.  I began to follow the suspect and informed the police with my cell.  As the police arrived I told the police what I´ve seen and that I also filmed the crime.  I gave them a copy of the video for evidence and a statement of what I seen and did.  Tonight on the 6o´clock news on three channels  I seen my videos being played.  This was done without my consent. No written or oral video rights release  was made from myself.  My question on any experts out there is: Is this legal?  Don´t I have to give consent.  What about payment from the news for usage?

Thanks for any help at all.

Luis Maymi's picture
Plus Member

NOTE: I'm not a lawyer or legal advisor, the reply below is from my personal experience. You should not take this for granted and always consult a legitimate lawyer in this type of cases.

From my understanding the police can use your video for evidence (such as in court), but to show it on TV without your consent could be a copyright infrigment. When you record a video it should automatically be copyright to it's creator and you as the creator decide what to do with it. What can you do in this case? Take the original raw footage (the one in the camera, tape or card) and go to the tv station with it. Explain the situation to them and they may give you some royalties. Like I mentioned before you should consult a lawyer to get some real legal advise in this case. 

-

"The meaning of a movie are the characters, the life of the movie is the music, but the magic is in the editing" –  http://www.lomaymi.com

Jennifer O'Rourke's picture
Plus Member