You are here

Sony HXR-NXU5 - audio/frame loss between SDHC cards

fairwindschance's picture

I often shoot live events where the camera is recording for up to an hour at a time using the Sony HXR-NXU5.  

I use 32 Gig SDHC cards (Sandisk Extreme) and often notice loss of audio/frames (mostly audio) when the cards "split" the footage up between files.

The camera starts a new file after 1.97G of footage has been recorded.  Is this a setting issue on my camera or a known issue that cannot be controlled?

This particular camera can be outfitted with a propriatary 128 Gig hard drive (at the ridiculous cost of $700).  IF I were to purchase would this drive would the clipping issue disappear?

Usually this is not a problem but when filming dance or performances dependent on a musical background the 12 frame loss is very noticeable.

Hope this is in the correct forum spot - I'm a formum newbie and this is one of my first postings. Thank you!

Woody Sanford's picture

Are you importing with the Sony Content Management Utility or just copying from the card?

I've copied from the FS 100 and VG-10 and gotten dropped frames but not when using the CMU. I've imported files from a card used in a friends NX5U with the CMU and all seemed good.

Something in the way it splits the file doesn't let you get the whole clip unless you go through the CMU first.

Luis Maymi's picture
Plus Member