You are here

Please clarify a basic lighting question for me!

puremotion's picture

Hello everyone, I'm fairly new to the video production game, and so far with regard to lighting, I've been using a set of three Redhead lights (all 800W) with dimmers. This seems to be absolutely ideal for using in a variety of situations as a 3-point system (key, fill and back lights), where I can use the dimmers to lessen the brightness of the lights according to the scene and the kind of effect I want to create. Now, I'm looking to upgrade my lighting kit, and all the lights out there seem to NOT have dimmers. Am I missing something? My lights are VERY bright unless I dim them, so how to people get by without dimmers? How do they control the brightness of their lights? Do they even need to - do I not really need dimmers?! I am aware you can get lighting kits that have lights of different wattage (e.g. 1 x 150W, 1 x 300W, 1 x 650W etc.), but this is still very restrictive as far as I can see in terms of altering the look of the lighting - so am I doing it wrong...? If someone can shed some light on the situation (pun intended...), that would be awesome. Thanks, Josh.

rs170a's picture

I'm guessing that you have separate dimmers as redheads don't come with them built in so just use those with whatever lights you buy. I've got 4 dimmers I use on a regular basis with my lowel kit. FYI, I had them custom made for me using commercial grade dimmers (1200 W. capacity) as standard home dimmers can be too noisy (from an electrical standpoint).

Mike

Rick Crampton's picture

" so am I doing it wrong...? "               That'd be MY guess. Pro's select their incandescent instrument's wattage based upon the amount of light they need, and by adjusting between " spot " and " flood ". Fine tuning is done by adjusting the distance from the instrument to the subject and/or the introduction of scrims. What happens to your color temperature when you use a dimmer? . . . . curious . . . .