You are here

Lighting Advice

joker_paradise's picture

Hello. I need to know what kind of results the lighting kit in this link will provide in a indoor setting. I was hoping for a warm mood but I cannot find anything about these lights. Do you think they are ok for this low of a price? I know nothing about lighting and I am just getting started in the video realm. Any advice?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/3200W-Julius-Studio-Photo-Soft-Box-Video-Lightin...

Woody Sanford's picture
Plus Member

Looks like an el cheapo set of Cowboy studio lights I have. They run about 5500K temp. I don't worry to much about getting the lighting perfect temp wise but comp wise and deal with the temp in post if I have to. I have a hard time breaking cheap stuff, expensive stuff I can break just looking at it. I've gotten a lot of work out of a cheap set of lights and no one was the wiser on a shoot.

Cville's picture

I agree with Woody.  I also have a cheep set from cowboy studio.  They have some duct tape in spots but they keep on working. 

I find the color temp on these fixtures work well if you have some daylight coming in thru windows it matches up nicely. 

Ive also used them as the only light source indoors.  With the right camera settings and a little work in post you can warm them up nicely. 

We don’t make movies to make money, we make money to make more movies.- Walt Disney 

www.ynotvideo.us

paulears's picture

They're also really, really dim! 40-60W CFLs really don't do much apart from glow. They're nice and soft, but unless your camera has plenty of gain and distances short, I'd avoid them. I have the set I bought in the store, used once and put away in disgust!

Woody Sanford's picture
Plus Member