You are here

Lens Dilemma (Novice Inquiry)

Unorthodox Gent's picture

Firstly, let me say I'm new to the blog, so if there is a designated place for this question aside from this ((forgive me)) Okay onto the question. I am a novice videographer and so far I've made a decent intro into the craft with just my kit lenses 600D & 500D, now I want to step up my arsenal for better front end quality. I initially didn't want to invest too much money and then later realizer "HEY YOU SUCK AT THIS" or "HEY I DON'T LIKE THIS". Thankfully none of those seem to be reality (yet) and hopefully never. I've already made up my mind about getting the Canon EF 50mm 1/8. I've been shooting quite a bit of small promo videos and music videos, I have done a few random landscape shoots as well, so I'm looking for a nice wide angle lens, a nice telephoto and some other multi-functions lenses. At the moment, I can only afford two more lenses outside of the Canon 50mm, so here is my potential list: 

Vivitar 28MM 1:2.5 67MM

Quantaray 28-90mm 1:3.5-5.6 

Vivitar 28mm F/2.5 1:2.5 f2.5f/2.5 

Quantaray AF 28-200mm F/3.8-5.6

Quantaray Tech-10 70-300mm f/4-5.6

Sigma 24-50mm F/3.3-4.5

Quantaray NF AF 28-80mm D F3.5-5.6

Sigma 24-70mm F/3.5-5.6 

Check it out and let me know what your thoughts are, as well as suggest some other potential lenses I should look into (brand and/or size)

Woody Sanford's picture
Plus Member

Normally I would not in any way suggest another forum. Videomaker is great but in this case its a buffet. You'll find many different people with many different experiences and talents. Lens selection gets down to the nitty gritty though (especially where money is concerned) and on a site like DSLR Filmmaking or DVX User you might find a greater number of people experienced in those specific cameras and lenses.