You are here

Help with settings for hockey

kew1's picture

I have been filming for many years but am certainly an amateur.  My grandson is a fantastic hockey player and everyone depends on me to take the videos and either give them out upon request or post on YouTube.  They all go on YouTube for the dad's to critcise (sorry kids).

This year I upgraded to a newer presumer camera a Sony HDR- PJ760V with the floating lens thinking that should be good for fast hockey.  However I get quite a bit of blur with everything set on Auto when I grab a still shot while stil filming..  If I manually adjust shutter speed which Auto sets at 60 the picture gets darker.  As some of you probably know in an indoor hockey rink the light varies from rink to rink and you also can most often end op shooting through Plexiglas (I avoid the higher elevations with nets to protect the fans). I get better shots with a clear puck in the air if I go to 250, 500 maybe even 180 is not all that bad.  But I have the abiliy to go the the thousands for shutter speed.  Imagine the action I could freeze with that and a 24.1 megapixal still.

Anyway any advice on how to set this thing so that I can get clear action still pictures and still maintain good lighting?  Sometimes also the movies may have a green or blue or other colour tinge to them. Any way to eliminate that?

Thanks so much.  For a guy who takes so many hours of video for so many years I really don’t know what I am f]doing . But I’m sure glad I found this forum

dellwovideo's picture

Shooting sports is very different than shooting other types of video.

The thing about it is this - expose is a balancing act between three basic factors.

1. Shutter speed (slower shutter: more light but more motion blur - faster shutter: less light but less motion blur.)

2. Iris aka f stop (larger iris: more light but shallower depth of field - narrower iris: less light but deeper depth of field,) (Lower f stop means larger iris.)