You are here

Green Screen Filming

Trolley Ronnie's picture
Plus Member

Good Morning Gentlemen, I have not entered this forum before so I hope I am conducting this correctly. I am hoping for some guidance on what I suspect to many of you are well understood matters, but as a beginner I am finding it difficult to find what I need to know. I have a canon xm2 and have begun playing with Green Screen recording, with poor results, I have now become aware of the possible significance of colour ratios i.e. 4.1.1. 4.2.2. etc, but do not understand them. I have tried but failed to discover which of the "4.4.4." ranges my XM2 records in, so cannot say if my poor result is because the XM2 is limited, or if I am just doing it wrong. This has come to a head as I am looking at the canon XF100 which says 4.2.2 and claims to therefore be good for Green screen - why and how? Is it possible that someone could shed some (not to technical) light on this for me? I would be most appreciative of any guidance. Yours faithfully, Trolley Ronnie, Cambridge, England.

Woody Sanford's picture
Plus Member

Type "Green Screen" in the search bar in the upper right. You will find many good articles on how its done. Color space (ex: 4:2:0 or 4:2:2) is technically significant however, there was a time when many of us pulled our green screens with the GL2/XM2. You can pull great chroma keying with 8bit color and bad with 10bit just the same. There are other factors involved such as lighting and spill. The articles you will find on this site will walk you through setting up for it and set you up for success.

rs170a's picture