You are here

Camera

BM
BM's picture

Hi all

This is my first post here. I studied Media Production with majors in Video Production about seven years ago. My previous degree was in HR and I got a good job in HR and due to this I could do nothing in Video Production for a long time. I have been using few sony cams in 2004/05 ( I don't remember models) and post production on Premier 6.5.

I was awarded Masters with distinction and before that I was famous in my family for making good videos, produced some family wedding videos as well in 2003/04.

Now the circumstances have changed and I am working hard to kick start a Video Production business and will initially concentrate on wedding videos. The business plan is ready, what is lacking is knowledge of modern relevant equipment & technology.

The very first thing in my list is a very good professional camera. Obviously I want to show a professional look from beginning although I know it will not be easy getting back on track but I cannot compromise on quality. I need your help to find a good professional camera. I do not want anything with a lot of complex functions but on the other hand I do not want anything which is  basic.

Budget is £3000 (around $5000) but you can reccommend something above this price as well.

And would it be good to start on Vegas Pro instead of Premier this time?

Thanks all. Your comments will be important to reach a decision. I am very much grateful.

Woody Sanford's picture

I would look at the Sony NEX EA50 and some fast glass. A used shotgun mic and pic up a decent used cordless and your in business. Should be under your buget limit as well.

voodeux's picture

I'm intrigued by your statement "I do not want anything with a lot of complex functions but on the other hand I do not want anything which is  basic."

What do you consider a complex function?