You are here

Who wants to play Price this Job?

kmac's picture

Hi all-

I'm a very experienced free-lance editor with advanced skills in all versions of FCP. I have managed to earn a living at this for many years, but I have been offered a new project that is stumping me on how to price it. For some reason I am not trusting my gut and would like some input. There is no way the client will pay my rate of $100 per hour for doing this job because of it's length. At the same time, this is a new client and I would like their business for their regular work, which are usually of considerably shorter lengths.

So who wants to play PRICE THIS JOB? Here are the details. I'm not asking for terribly exact numbers, just a ballpark at which the majority of you would begin to think about accepting the job.

Finished product is a 4 DVD set. TRT is projected at 7.5 hrs after content cuts. Raw footage is about 8.5 hours. Straight cuts on FCP X, minimal graphics, simple DVD menu. Small audio fixes for consistent levels and occasional coverage of jump cuts in applause.

Video is a 3 camera shoot of a lecture with audience. The master audio track was recorded separately. There is a total of approx. 26 hours of footage plus 8+ hours audio to be edited. Client will provide content cuts after assembly edit of all the footage to arrive at the 7.5 hour finished product.. DVD of assembly edit with TC burn window will need to be provided to client for cuts.
All the files will be provided on an external HD.
DVD Masters will need to be created and provided to client for duplication.

Anybody????

kmac's picture

It's factory work, but a whole LOT of it. Not much creative at all. Why they didn't just live switch the thing is beyond me.

Jack Wolcott's picture
Plus Member