Sign up now and get a free Tip Sheet for Videographers!

Forums » Trading Post

Who has heard of "Sonic Cameras", and can they be trusted?

(11 posts)
  • Started 3 months ago by Starman9x
  • Latest reply from DannysStudio

  1. Starman9x
    Member

    User has not uploaded an avatar

    Greetings -- I'm in the market for a new HD camera, so I've been visiting the shops and trying to rationalize a fairly large cash investment.  I did a search today and found the site "soniccameras.com" and a price I cannot believe -- a new Canon XH/A1 for about $1250

    The site that directed me to them (pricingdepot.com) has over 5000 reviews with an "average" of 5 stars (out of 5).

    The better business bureau "hasn't heard of them" (well, actually, per the website they were "recently brought to our attention" as of 3/27 -- that would be today...)   This seems a little odd -- I find it hard to believe that with 5000 insanely positive reviews, they haven't had at least one clunker and/or report to the BBB.

    The price they are quoting seems suspiciously low, but if it's legit, then hell yeah I'll be buying it from them!

    Posted 3 months ago # Login to Send PM
  2. Be very careful. When I bought my Panasonic AG-DVC20 there were sites that offered it very low, even half price. We found out they only sold the camera, no extras like batteries and the charger. Ask alot of questions before you buy.

    Posted 3 months ago # Login to Send PM
  3. Videofreak
    Member

    videofreak

     If it sounds to good to be true, then it is! There are a lot of cons out there. There are only a hand full of online stores you can trust.  B&H, Full Compass, and Adorama are online stores I've worked with, and HIGHLY recommend. 

    Posted 3 months ago # Login to Send PM
  4. Johnboy
    Member

    User has not uploaded an avatar

    i'll second Videofreak's post.  Most of these low price outlets attempt to sell you a camera, and then offer 'extras' such as batteries, warranties, chargers; often these are things that should already be packaged with the camera and often you won't get your camera without a lot of hassles.  I've only used B&H for my equipment and have never had any issues.  Very dependable.

     John

    Posted 3 months ago # Login to Send PM
  5. Starman9x
    Member

    User has not uploaded an avatar

    Thanks for the input -- with that in mind, I did take a /closer/ look at their page and what they offer.  Per the Canon brochure, there isn't much (other than the charger and a battery) that I see as expensive items to replace [cables, carrying strap, etc.] with the possible exception of the "wireless controller" [and even then, I'd be hard pressed to value that at more than $20...]

    The batteries that SC is offering under the related items/accessories listing seem to be extremely OVER priced (not to mention generic 3rd party batteries...), and I see in their "about us/company info" page a small disclaimer that Sonic Cameras "carries US & Non-US products. Non US products may be considerably less expensive. The product packaging may or may not include all software, accessories, and features intended for US customers. Please allow three to four weeks for delivery on some international products. USA warranty may be additional. Images and specifications are for illustrative purposes only."

    that's kind of a blanket statement -- I can see how this could be used to get out of having to provide what is "normally" supposed to be included.

    So, with that in mind, I've sent off an e-mail asking about this camera in particular and what I'd ultimately have to pay to have this "working on the day I get it into my hands"  -- it will be interesting to see their response...

    Tom

    Posted 3 months ago # Login to Send PM
  6. Here's what you want to watch out for.  Look at the website and see where they are located.  If they are located in Brooklyn, NY, then stay away.  There are many fraud camera companies located in Brooklyn.  To find out what kind of rating any company has, go to www.resellerratings.com.  You can search by store name and find out what people rate it.  Sonic Camera is located in Brooklyn and is rated 1.37 out of 10!  Not good.

    I would highly reccomend B and H, Calumet, Abes of Maine, and Adorama.

    Hope this helps.
    Jeremy

    Posted 2 months ago # Login to Send PM
  7. tr
    Member

    User has not uploaded an avatar

    Soniccameras.com is a total SCAM!!!

    It's a long story, but I ended up having to cancel my credit card after placing an order with them.  I would love to report them, but don't know how to go about doing so.

    Posted 2 months ago # Login to Send PM
  8. GilbyGood
    Member

    User has not uploaded an avatar

    tr,

    Call the FBI. As Soniccameras.com are on the internet and they seem to be violating an interstate statute.

    BBB should also be called.

    Posted 2 months ago # Login to Send PM
  9. toddrich
    Member

    User has not uploaded an avatar

    a complete fraud.

    "sonic cameras" is also cameraprofessionals.com, cameras.com, and bestpricecameras.com.

    the canon xh/a1 is so inexpensive from these guys because the price does not include some basics. like the viewfinder and lens. (again, it's missing not just the charger and battery -- it has no lens or viewfinder.) of course, these don't exist. they are out of those. 

    how about the full camera, as it's sold by sony? $3888.

    have to give them credit for the websites, though.

    all that aside, i'm interested in the  xh/a1. anybody find a "real" low price?

    Posted 2 months ago # Login to Send PM
  10. Rockzilla79
    Member

    User has not uploaded an avatar

     I just almost ordered a camera from them a couple days ago and cancelled my order after arguing three different times on the phone with them.  I thought I was paying about $450 for a Nikon D40, including a lens, battery, carrying case, tripod, and cleaning kit all for free, but had to call to "confirm" my order, which was really just their ploy to try and haggle me into buying a lot more.  After the sales rep. was done offereing me everything I supposedly needed, my bill was all the way up to $730.  He wanted to charge me an extra $20 for shipping insurance, as well.  He also lied and said he couldn't cancel my order, saying it was "out of his hands" because I already agreed to pay that, but I looked on their website and it said clearly that you can call and cancel an existing order, so I called back and after being put on hold 3 different times, I finally got a hold of the guy again and called him out on it, so he cancelled my order after trying to give me a guilt trip about it.

    Don't buy from these guys!!!  Or any other "too good to be true" online dealer.  Go through someone you've actually heard of and pay a few bucks more with the satisfaction of knowing you won't get ripped off or have to deal with horrible customer service.

    Posted 1 month ago # Login to Send PM
  11. DannysStudio
    Member

    User has not uploaded an avatar

    If you sense a risk or doubt about the website, there probably is one. I just checked the site out and I felt uncertain all over.

    Posted 1 month ago # Login to Send PM

RSS feed for this topic