Which Camcorder HMC 40 TM700 or maybe HMC 150

kmaultsby's picture

Hello everyone getting back into my favorite hobby will be
purchase my first tape-less camcorder. I edit with Avid Media Composer
5. I do not do this for a living just a hobby. The events I will be
using the camcorder for is things like Air, and Car Shows, Vacations, and
family events. I am looking at the Panasonic TM700 and HMC-40 and if I
can fine a used one HMC 150 but the 150 most likely will be out of my budget,
back to 700 and the 40. What are the major differences between the two?
I worry about the 40 maybe too big for taking on vacation. I would love
to read any suggestion and feedback on the cameras. What are the advantages disadvantages?

EarlC's picture
Plus Member Moderator

HMC-40 is a decent enough product but I continue to have a personal aversion to the CMOS sensors. I prefer the HMC-150 primarily because it has CCD sensors that do not experience some of the "issues" of the CMOS variety.

There's also the shoulder-size HMC-70 that, although it's CMOS based, sounds like a sweet compromise and allows for SD and HD production work. Actually, the Videomaker banner ad features an HMC-80 for about $2,885 that looks interesting, also CMOS.

Canon's Vixia line has some suitable models worth considering, and there's a host of Sony enthusiasts here who will no doubt pipe in.

XTR-91's picture

Max portability - I'd choose the TM700. If you've got money, than I'd get the HMC80. The only real issue with CMOS is rolling shutter. You don't really notice it with high end camcorders, though.

I only notice it on my Panasonic TM700 with sudden jerks in 24p (web-converted) video. Blur's a side effect of shutter speed - in all video cams.

Charles Schultz's picture