You are here

What to shoot ?

qqoorr's picture

Hello, i am a beginner photographer i want to get into videography but i just want to know something before i buy a camera, If i won't shoot weddings or events what will i shoot ?? i mean, in photography you can shoot anything like landscapes or anything but in videography if there's nothing happening, what will i shoot ?? i need ur advice :)

vid-e-o-man's picture
Plus Member

Ahmad,shooting landscapes with a still camera gives you one moment in time. Shooting the same landscape in video will give you motion, the motion of the camcorder in relation to the scenery, or you can capture the effect of wind on the trees, hear the rustling of leaves, spot a bird flying through the frame, etc. Some say that audio is at least half of the video experience. In photography there is no audio unless you create a slide show with an audio bed underneath it. This is actually simulating video! I find that shooting video at non-event situations (landscapes, wildlife, etc.) to be very satisfying, although not usually as income-producing as shooting events. As you develop your skills with the still camera, you will also be developing skills that will carry over to video if you choose to go in that direction. A lot of us who video have some background with still photography. keep shooting.

EarlC's picture
Plus Member Moderator

As Videoman says, but also there is the potential for development of a huge personal library of living scenes like V-man so poetically noted. Given the time, proper equipment and love for say, nature or even planes, trains and automobiles; also sunsets, sunrises, moon and clouds, trees, birds, waterways, waterfalls, beaches, oceans, rivers and lakes, storms ...