You are here

What Camera Should I Get?

jgproductions96's picture

Hello, i am a young filmmaker that needs a new camera. I wanted a Canon Vixia HV40, but i dont have a firewire port on my laptop. I want an HD camera that easy to use but has features that i can control the exposure and white balance to make my movies look better. I want to pay under 1000, so i have money left for other things, but i thought i would come here because i know the people on this forum are very knowledge full and have all been in my place at some point in their life. so if anyone can tell me the name of a decent priced HD Camcorder thats good for yong filmmaker, Thank you!

-John

dsonnen's picture

I've found that the Canon Vixia M32 has all the basics plus a nice range of capabilities that suit it for a lot of pro work. The M32 has 64 Gb of on-board memory, SD card slot, jacks for external mics and headphones, simple viewscreen interface, very good image quality and manual modes that let you control as much as you want. The camera is about the size of a pop can and light. I'm still finding useful capabilities that I didn't know it had when I bought it.

B&H Photo has the M32 on sale for about $600 -- about $400 bucks off of MSRP.

jamieburns99's picture

I gotta say, although I'm still new to video, that I love my Canon T3i! Of course it does have draw backs...the biggest one that I didn't know about before buying is that it will automatically shut off after (I think around 11 min) of shooting full HD video (or once 4gb worth of video has been shot). But that doesn't bother me so much as I'd rather shoot short clips anyway. The picture quality is just awesome and I like how it comes in QuickTime clips that I can drag and drop to my computer.

D0n
D0n's picture