You are here

weddings, multi cam shooting and editing

freelife2g's picture

What's up everyone. I am a hobbyist continuing to learn every chance I get which is why I love these types of forums. Currently I am working on my event skills. A few people have asked me to video their weddings. As always I like to do my homework. Between the weddings I have been to and the ones I have seen on you tube, I know a couple of things.

1 - I have to work on shooting in low light, because I hate those on cam lights that blind everyone facing the camera.

2 - Documentary style seems to be most common, plenty to learn in order to produce consistent quality products.

3. I really want to get good at the cinematic style videos. Definitely a lot to learn here. Can't wait!

I have 3 cams in my arsenal right now, a Canon HV30, a Canon Rebel T1i, and a Canon XHA1.

I would appreciate tips and info on setup, camera placement and use for each camera, and editing footage from different cameras. Monopods vs Tripods. I saw one videographer using tripod with a dolly setup. Never saw the final product, but she was rolling around the room all night. Question, can you do a multi cam shoot with only 1 cameraman? If so how would you do that? I have a couple of people in mind that I may be able to use as an assistant but for now I have to assume that I am a solo crew until I get that worked out.

Jack Wolcott's picture
Plus Member

Freelife2g, I don't mean to be too harsh about this but what you're asking would take a book to answer. If you're serious about shooting weddings, first take a couple of Videomaker seminars to answer your basic shooting questions, then go to a WEVA convention and pick brains regarding the niceties of wedding videography. See if you can sign on with a local wedding videographer as an unpaid assistant -- an apprentice. That's a great way to lean, too.