You are here

Videography - using DSLR's and Camcorders side-by-side.

seanocaster's picture

Hi,

I hope you don't mind if i pick your brains. Apologies for it being long. The bold text highlights the questions that i'm currently struggling to answer.

--

I've been involved in video and film for a few years but have never specialized, it's always been more of a hobby. I studied a 2D/3D animation diploma about 3 years ago and although i haven't done it full time, i've always done small freelance jobs here and there. This year i have made the commitment to give it my 100% attention as i do really enjoy working with film and combining after effects compositions etc.

I currently have a Canon 550d with 50mm f/1.2L and 24-70mm f/2.8L lenses which produce a very nice quality of video. I have just finished my first real project for the year which took me a month - it's a documentary and it's about 5 mins long. It was done as a freebie to build my showreel and i'm happy with the product. It is my goal to create a few of these projects which will ultimately assist me in selling my services. So that is the path that i'm on and i'm quite confident i will get there if i just dedicate my time and persevere.

I have been researching the particulars of video for a few weeks (depth of field, aperture, shutter speed, interlaced versus progressive etc.) as i am trying to understand which cameras/lenses are best suited for which tasks. I currently lack a very big zoom range with the lenses i own and am looking to solve the problem. The question is, do i invest in a 70-300mm f/4L lens for my DSLR? or alternatively do i keep the DSLR for up close/shallow DoF stuff and then rather purchase a professional camcorder which can fulfill the purpose of zooming further as well as other footage that doesn't necessarily require shallow DoF?