You are here

Tungsten Lighting vs. Smoke Alarms

mercedeslens's picture

Hi everyone, long time lurker here.

I've been working freelance for a few years and knew about this problem, but had never really needed to worry about it until now.

I was recently hired full-time as an in-house videographer / editor for a company, and have been working out of a standard office cubicle and external locations for the first few months while a studio space is built in a large partitioned area of the workplace. The space will be used for shooting products, promo videos and misc. video tasks (e.g.: brand managers, rep training videos etc.).

Camera and other gear aside, for lighting we have purchased a 4-head Lowel lighting kit coming in at ~1700W. This may or may not be supplemented by more lighting down the track.

I personally own an Ianiro 3x 800W redhead kit and a single 650W Arri fresnel, which I have used for most of my freelance work over the past year or two. For a few of these jobs, we have worked in a space where smoke and/or heat detectors are either absent, or able to be manually overridden / shut off temporarily.

Currently we are looking at ways to avoid the issue of lighting setting off the building's fire alarms and costing us thousands each time the lights are switched on.

The company HQ is on the top floor of a 3-floor office building with standard 10-12ft office ceilings. Fire department protocol dictates that smoke detectors must be spaced in a grid pattern every 7m throughout the building. It also dictates that installing an extraction fan would be against the fire code, as any fire that starts would potentially spread into the roof cavity via that duct and worsen the situation.