You are here

Travel & Documentary camcorder help

spencerwynn's picture

I am new to video cameras. Though, I am very used to my 5DMKII and love it for all the obvious reasons. I shoot with an external recorder (H4N) and edit in FCPX.

I will be heading to a job where I will need to be nimble, lightweight and often unobtrusive. I will be in a country where I will stand out a LOT, so my gear needs to be of good quality, easy to use, and quick to pack in case I need to act quickly.

My requirements are very good video, low-light sensitive and of course, HD. It would be a total bonus if this mythic device also had the capability of shooting with short depth of fields.

I am totally in the dark about this and need to make a decision within the next few days, as I need to fly out of the country mid September.

Thanks in advance, and I look forward to any suggestions.

Oh yes, since this is my own dime, price is also an issue!

Ian Kirkpatrick's picture

I think that the Canon XA10 would be a good camera to meet your needs. It is a reasonably small, light weightprofessional camera withis capable of manualor automatic operation. It is full HD and produces excellent pictures even in quite low light conditions. Has built in microphones or will accept an on board external microphoneor can be used with external microphones (orat line level witha mixer) via XLR connectors.

If real shallow depth of field is required, the Sony NEX-VG10 would be a good choice but it does not produce quite the same quality picturesand does not have as good a low light performance. It operates more like an DSLR camera than a conventional video camera. Nice camera all the same.

Cheers Ian

D0n
D0n's picture

I think you might be looking into the 4/3' system cams or other mirrorless cameras.

another option would be Pentax d-slrs as they come weathersealed and are very small compared to yoour canon.
a pentax k-5 with weathersealed lens and a hotshoe mount mic might just be what you need.