You are here

To Build or not to Build....

composite1's picture
Plus Member Moderator

Lately in the post threads I've been gettingquestions concerning thebenefits /drawbacks of buildinga custom system versus buying a pre-built system forNon-linearEditing. Tokeep from taking over other posts I've opened up this one to specifically address theseissues.Up front I am not a computer engineer by any stretch. However, since 1998I'veupgraded and built PC's and Mac'sout of 'self-defense' because either it was too expensive to send out for repair orif I didn't do it, it wouldn't have gotten done.My current depth of knowledge leansstrongly toward PC because it's still 'legal' to build them on your own. However, nowwith the resurgence of the 'Hackintosh' I am again taking an interest in 'mac clones'. So with all that in mindplease bring yourquestions / comments about building and upgradingpc's and mac's, butspare us the PC' vs Mac' debate.

Thanks.

NormanWillis's picture

Hey Composite,

Great idea on starting this new thread.

I probably fall into the 'combination' category. For me, dollars are limited, buttime is critical.I am basically a "one man show", and while I am trying to learn, I really don't know all that much yet,soI need to do whatever I reasonably can to maximize productivity, and then save money, and in that order. If I hit a snag or too-big of a learning curvethen I am basically down, which I cannot afford; and so tech support is really, reallyvaluable for me (time being money, you know).