You are here

please help me!!! syncing audio from multiple cameras

czvp's picture

hey im a wedding videographer but ive been asked to do something a little out of my league. i shoot with 3 cameras at weddings but the audio isnt important so i put music tracks through the entire video. well some friends ask me to shoot live footage of them singing with multiple cameras but i do not know how to get the best audio quality. i ran across this perfect example of the kind of video they want on youtube. ill post a link in this post. my question is can you tell me what they are using in this video to get the great live audio. i can do the same exact thing for my friend putting a recorded track he has over it and just sync his lip movements to the audio.

http://www.youtube.com/profile?user=boyceavenue&view=videos&start=20

czvp's picture

well im not videoing a live show in an auditorium or anything. it will be in his living room most likely. can i use audio mixer software for my laptop or do i have to actually buy an audio mixer?

CraftersOfLight's picture
Plus Member

From what I have seen, if you are going to do many shots of the band members, you might want to think about doing the following. Most "studio" shoots play the song being recorded in the background and the group plays along or "airbands" it. this allows them to keep the same tempo/sync as the music they will be using in post. (I would not count on things going well enough that you could do it all in one take). They will do many takes with the cameras at different angles on different members of the group. Then in post they would cut the scenes to the same recording they were playing with as the sound track. This allows the lip sync and play sync to line up.

Life is not a guided tour nor a destination. It is a journey. Take the time to enjoy your family, friends and surroundings. Build memories. Share experiences. Travel at sight speed not light speed. (C)

czvp's picture