You are here

Struggling to find clients

matthewc's picture

I'm a film student in Boston and a resident of Cape Cod. My dream is to make movies someday, but paying for expenses is nice too.

I work very hard to find people who might be interested in my services, which ranges from event video, music videos, and commercials.

I've tried to reasonably price my service at $350 per day on production, a $100 consulting rate (which is for people who want help on troubleshooting), and $50 per hour for editing. Which I think is pretty cheap. And lots of people have turned their noses up at it.

Posting on Craigslist has found me individuals who won't even pay more than $100 or less.

Recently I've just given in and have been marketing my price at around $150 - $200 flat. Which I've begun to regret, but what else can I do?

I have no idea how to just simply find and call up places that might require my service. And I have no experience in putting myself out there.

Is there any advice someone can give me as to where to begin?

EarlC's picture
Plus Member Moderator

Are you looking for work (clients, customers) as a shooter only, or are you seeking to marketing yourself as able to provide turnkey production. It would seem the latter as you point out having a day rate for shooting (I presume), a consulting rate for people wanting help on "troubleshooting" whatever THAT entails? and an editing rate.

That being the case, are you wanting to acquire business in all areas of production, including event production such as weddings and other individual celebrations?

Personally, Craigslist is a cancer that eats up legitimate services/products for reasonable prices and is the armpit of garage sale mentality. But, just as spam and junk mail serve a purpose work (because if it didn't the shear volume of it wouldn't be so huge) I suppose so does Craigslist.